About Me

My photo
Jacqueline Harvey has combined a successful career in education with her love of a good story. She is the author of 14 novels for younger readers and a picture book, THE SOUND OF THE SEA, which was awarded Honour Book in the 2006 Children’s Book Council Awards. Her bestselling Alice-Miranda series centres on the life of Alice-Miranda Highton-Smith-Kennington-Jones, a perpetually positive and determined seven year old who takes herself off to boarding school because it appeals to her sense of adventure. The first book in the series, Alice-Miranda At School was released in Australia in February 2010 with Alice-Miranda On Holiday, Alice-Miranda Takes the Lead, Alice-Miranda At Sea, Alice-Miranda In New York, Alice-Miranda Shows the Way and Alice-Miranda In Paris following at six month intervals. Jacqueline is currently contracted to write 12 Alice-Miranda books. She has a new series for younger readers (5-9 year olds) which launched in Australia in September 2012. Jacqueline is contracted to write eight Clementine-Rose books with Random House Australia. For more information go to www.jacquelineharvey.com.au

Tuesday, November 13, 2012


Dear Friends,

It's been a very exciting week for my best grown up friend, Jacqueline Harvey and me as last Wednesday we learned that Alice-Miranda At School received the YABBA (Young Australian's Best Book Award) in the Younger Readers category in Victoria this year.  http://yabba.org.au/2012/11/2012-award-winners/ 

Today Alice-Miranda At School received an Honour Book Award at the KOALAs (Kids' Own Australian Literature Awards).  http://www.koalansw.org.au/2012-awards-day/  Tashi and the Golem by Anna Fienberg and Kim Gamble was announced the winner.

There were so many incredible authors and illustrators on the shortlist, including Andy Griffiths (who won loads of awards at both the YABBAs and KOALAs and is an icon of Australian children's literature), Oliver Phommavanh (who received an Honour Book award in the Older Readers category today) and Chris Morphew who won the YA category at both events for his fabulous Phoenix Files.  Belinda Murrell, Deb Abela, Frances Watts, Moya Simons, Duncan Ball, Gabrielle Lord, David Legge were all at the KOALA awards ceremony today with books in the running.  And not forgetting Sarah Davis whose gorgeous book with Colin Thompson, Fearless In Love won the Picture Book category in both states too.

Have a great week.

Lots of love,
Alice-Miranda xx

No comments:

Post a Comment