About Me

My photo
Jacqueline Harvey has combined a successful career in education with her love of a good story. She is the author of 14 novels for younger readers and a picture book, THE SOUND OF THE SEA, which was awarded Honour Book in the 2006 Children’s Book Council Awards. Her bestselling Alice-Miranda series centres on the life of Alice-Miranda Highton-Smith-Kennington-Jones, a perpetually positive and determined seven year old who takes herself off to boarding school because it appeals to her sense of adventure. The first book in the series, Alice-Miranda At School was released in Australia in February 2010 with Alice-Miranda On Holiday, Alice-Miranda Takes the Lead, Alice-Miranda At Sea, Alice-Miranda In New York, Alice-Miranda Shows the Way and Alice-Miranda In Paris following at six month intervals. Jacqueline is currently contracted to write 12 Alice-Miranda books. She has a new series for younger readers (5-9 year olds) which launched in Australia in September 2012. Jacqueline is contracted to write eight Clementine-Rose books with Random House Australia. For more information go to www.jacquelineharvey.com.au

Saturday, November 3, 2012

A lovely review for Alice-Miranda Shows the Way

Review Blog

Oct 18 2012

Alice-Miranda shows the way by Jacqueline Harvey

cover image
Random House, 2012. ISBN: 9781742751177.
Highly recommended for ages 8 and up. As the delightful Alice-Miranda celebrates her eighth birthday, excitement is building for both the girls and the staff of Winchesterfield-Downsfordvale Academy. The village show is about to occur, complete with events for everyone, as well as providing an extra day off of school. Whilst Alice-Miranda and Millie are practicing their horse riding skills, others are completing needle work pieces and perfecting their baking skills. When Evelyn Pepper, the trainer of Rockstar, the Queen's favourite horse, is admitted to hospital, Alice-Miranda becomes involved. Her pony, Bonaparte, is the only thing which can calm Rockstar and encourage him to race, thereby leaving open the Aunty Gee's chances of winning the Queen's Cup. Into the mix, add the carnival people, who are much maligned by the locals and held accountable for anything which goes wrong or missing during their time in the Village.
Harvey has created some eminently likeable characters, almost certainly too good to be true, yet whom one would be happy to class as friends. Similarly, any child reading these books would undoubtedly fall in love with the idea of attending Alice-Miranda's school. The girls seem spend little time in class but many hours on pursuing their own interests. They appear to have a great deal of freedom, allowing them to visit various other people and locations, seemingly without restrictions. As with the other titles in this series, there are some predictable turns of events for older readers, yet younger children may not find this to be the case. The key characters are believable and demonstrate the ability to change and grow. There is the inevitable 'baddie' as well, yet, thanks to the ingenuity of Alice-Miranda, the reader knows that there will always be a happy ending.
Jo Schenkel

1 comment:

  1. Can't wait to get my hands on this one!!

    - Sunny (www.asupersunnyspot.blogspot.com)