About Me

My photo
Jacqueline Harvey has combined a successful career in education with her love of a good story. She is the author of 14 novels for younger readers and a picture book, THE SOUND OF THE SEA, which was awarded Honour Book in the 2006 Children’s Book Council Awards. Her bestselling Alice-Miranda series centres on the life of Alice-Miranda Highton-Smith-Kennington-Jones, a perpetually positive and determined seven year old who takes herself off to boarding school because it appeals to her sense of adventure. The first book in the series, Alice-Miranda At School was released in Australia in February 2010 with Alice-Miranda On Holiday, Alice-Miranda Takes the Lead, Alice-Miranda At Sea, Alice-Miranda In New York, Alice-Miranda Shows the Way and Alice-Miranda In Paris following at six month intervals. Jacqueline is currently contracted to write 12 Alice-Miranda books. She has a new series for younger readers (5-9 year olds) which launched in Australia in September 2012. Jacqueline is contracted to write eight Clementine-Rose books with Random House Australia. For more information go to www.jacquelineharvey.com.au

Saturday, July 28, 2012

Alice-Miranda On Vacation

I was so thrilled to see this review for Alice-Miranda On Vacation this week.  I love hearing from my readers in other countries - and I'm so glad that Marilyn enjoyed this adventure!

Alice-Miranda on Vacation

by Jacqueline Harvey

Review Date: 07/24/2012
Recommended Age: 9+
Overall Rating:
Overall Review:
I am hooked on Alice-Miranda, the heroine of ALICE-MIRANDA ON VACATION. I am so hooked that after having finished the second book, I am going to hunt down the first book in this series, ALICE-MIRANDA AT SCHOOL and read it. Jacqueline Harvey has created a character every young girl would love to be. She is rich, smart, loving; in addition, she lives in a big house, rides horses, and has adoring parents, and yet Alice-Miranda never steps over that line of becoming too perfect. She remains consistently charming and true to herself. With Miranda at the center, Ms. Harvey adds other questionable characters and the reader can't wait to find out who is friend or villain and what diabolical plot they are up to. The author was able to keep me guessing for quite a while. With many characters from the first book in addition to all the new people included in the second story, Ms. Harvey has included a cast of characters in the back of the book so you can keep yourself straight. These characters rev up action, so that there are surprises right through to the end. Luckily, this second book is not the last in the series. More are in the works for U.S. publication. Alice-Miranda fans, rejoice!

Reviewed By Marilyn
No image available

No comments:

Post a Comment